Being a threat / Being threatened

“When I was perceived as a black man I became a threat to public safety. When I was dressed as myself, it was my safety that was threatened.”

-Laverne Cox, in The Advocate

I am seriously obsessed with Orange is the New Black, not only because of the great writing and the fact that I binge-watched it in three days. The kind of women they portray on this show are like no other on mainstream television: lesbians, drug addicts, black and Hispanic women, and Laverne cox as the first trans woman of color actually playing a trans woman of color. She is smart and sassy and  love her. Highly recommend this show to everyone.

Leave a Reply

