Quvenzhané Wallis

I haven’t seen Beasts of the Southern Wild but it’s on my list. Mostly because I have fallen in love with the pint-sized star. I really wish I got to hear her acceptance speech because it would have been adorbs.

But of course, not everyone loves her (even if I don’t understand). The Onion came under fire Sunday night for this seriously misguided and offensive tweet:  “Everyone else seems afraid to say it, but that Quvenzhané Wallis is kind of a c–t, right? #Oscars2013.”

Sorry Onion, we all know you’re satire, but this crossed the line. She’s nine. Everyone from Keith Olberman to Wendell Pierce came to her defense and The Onion quickly deleted it. Not cool, Onion. Not cool.

EDIT: They apologized.

Leave a Reply

