Twittering about town

I’ve been using Twitter pretty regularly for about six months now, and I am pretty into it. I find a lot of my news from it, and share a lot of news, two things that are pretty important to me, but I can also have a conversation about various things, which is cool.

Last week, I got into a whole new realm of Twitter called “live-tweeting.” For class, we had to live-tweet an event to our followers. To “live-tweet” means to actively post to Twitter while you are doing something. So I went to BlastFest, which was an all-day music fest/zine fair at the YMCA in Central Square. I don’t read zines all that often and I don’t know much about them, but a friend of mine i super involved in the Papercut Zine Library and they had a booth so I headed on over. Not to mention, last weekend was so beautiful, that a bike ride to Cambridge was more than welcome. So I head over and start tweeting.

I think live-tweeting is kind of weird. I appreciate when other people do it for important stuff (I followed the health care vote carefully on Twitter and got really awesome info from it), but I was kind of uncomfortable doing it because I don’t like clogging up my followers’ pages. In my last post, I talked about how I don’t like following the Huffington Post for this reason! So I don’t want to be one of those people.

But it was kind of cool. My photos were super dark because A) it was really dark in there and B) I am still trying to figure out the settings for my camera on my new phone. So that was a bummer, but I realized that it is kind of a hassle to live-tweet things. I think if I was sitting on my couch covering something on television it would’ve been easier, but considering I don’t have cable and my television is from circa 1967, I chose to go out. Typing on my phone, taking pictures, trying to get my thoughts straight, and everything going on around me was a little overwhelming. It made me appreciate the people who I follow who live tweet all the time (Professor Kennedy, I’m, looking at you) about stuff I really want to read, but I am unsure how often I will be doing this in the future.

Leave a Reply

